Important Update to Visa Waiver Program/ESTA and travel to the US

For Immediate Release
March 29, 2016

Important Update to the Visa Waiver Program/ESTA and Travel to the U.S.

U.S. Consulate in Hamilton issued a press-release yesterday about a requirement for individuals who travel to the United States under the Visa Waiver Program (VWP).  The requirement to have a valid electronic passport pertains only to citizens of the 38 countries participating in the Visa Waiver Program (VWP).

Bermuda does not participate in the Visa Waiver Program. Therefore a requirement for an electronic passport does not apply to Bermuda passport holders at this time.

Please find reference regarding the VWP below and in the following link:

The Visa Waiver Program (VWP) provides for visa-free travel by nationals of designated countries coming to the United States for tourism or business (B visa purposes) for a period not to exceed 90 day.

List of Countries Whose Nationals Are Eligible to Travel under the VWP:

Andorra Australia Austria
Belgium Brunei Chile
Czech Republic Denmark Estonia
Finland France Germany
Greece Hungary Iceland
Ireland Italy Japan
Latvia Liechtenstein Lithuania
Luxembourg Malta Monaco
Netherlands New Zealand Norway
Portugal Republic of Korea San Marino
Singapore Slovak Republic Slovenia
Spain Sweden Switzerland
Taiwan United Kingdom*

*For the purposes of VWP, United Kingdom refers only to British citizens who have the unrestricted right of permanent abode in the United Kingdom (i.e., England, Scotland, Wales, Northern Ireland, the Channel Islands, and the Isle of Man). Accordingly, with respect to VWP travel, the term United Kingdom does not apply to British Nationals Abroad or to citizens of British Commonwealth countries.